News Feed

Customize your Workplace news feed to see your preferred posts and updates.

You can unfollow or hide people and stories from your News Feed. If you hide a story from your News Feed, you'll be less likely to see similar stories in your News Feed in the future.
To hide a story [or a person]:
  1. Click in the top right of the post.
  2. Select Hide post or Hide all from [name].
Note: If you're not seeing posts in News Feed that you'd like to see, you can join more groups or follow more people.
Was this information helpful?
If you no longer want to see updates from a specific coworker on your Workplace News Feed, you can choose to Mute or Snooze their posts.
Muting a coworker's posts will hide all posts by them from your News Feed until you choose to unmute them. Snoozing a coworker's posts will hide posts by them from your News Feed for the next 30 days.
To Mute or Snooze a coworker's posts:
  1. From your Workplace News Feed, click at the top of a post from the coworker you would like to stop seeing posts from.
  2. Click either Hide all or Snooze for 30 days.
  3. The post will disappear from your News Feed. If you have made a mistake, press Undo
To once again start seeing posts from your coworker:
  1. From your Workplace homepage, search for your coworker using the search bar on the top left of the screen.
  2. Click on their name to view their profile.
  3. Click Undo, underneath the alert on their timeline about their current Mute or Snooze status.
Was this information helpful?
News Feed stories can include status updates, photos, videos, links, comments and likes. The stories that are shown in your News Feed are determined by several factors, including:
  • Posts in groups you're a member of.
  • Timeline posts from people you follow.
If you run out of content to display on your News Feed, you might also see recommendations for open groups to join and trending posts from the group.
Your previous activity on Workplace can also influence the stories in your News Feed. For example, if you've liked or commented on photos in the past, you may be more likely to see photos in your News Feed.
Was this information helpful?
Sometimes a post that you've already seen will move to the top of your News Feed if one of your coworkers has liked or commented on it. This helps you see posts that are important to you and that your coworkers are interacting with the most.
Was this information helpful?
When you follow a coworker, you'll see their posts in your News Feed. You can follow your coworkers, people on other teams or executives in your company. You'll only see posts that are visible to the entire company or posted to groups you're a member of.
When a coworker follows you, they'll see the posts that are visible to your company in their News Feed. If you post to a closed or secret group, your coworkers will only see it if they're members of the group you posted to.
When you unfollow a coworker, you'll see fewer posts from them in your News Feed. You can reconnect with the coworker that you unfollowed by following them again.
Was this information helpful?
You can turn Workplace's video auto-play settings on or off.
To stop videos from playing automatically on your computer:
  1. Click on your profile picture in the bottom left of Workplace > click Settings.
  2. Click Videos.
  3. Click the dropdown menu next to Auto-Play Videos and select Off.
Was this information helpful?
To better focus on your News Feed, you can temporarily hide the panels on the left and right of your Workplace.
The left panel contains your most used groups, recent chats and notifications. To hide this panel:
  1. Go to either your Workplace News Feed, chats or a group.
  2. Hover over the left panel and click .
The right panel can contain upcoming events, suggested groups and trending posts from your organization. When you are looking at a group or chat, the right panel changes to show recent activity and group descriptions. To hide this panel:
  1. Go to either your Workplace News Feed, chats or a group.
  2. Hover over the right panel and click .
To reopen either panel, click the relevant icon a second time.
Default view
The current state of your left or right panels will only last as long as your current session. If you open Workplace in a new tab, both panels will be open again.
Was this information helpful?